July Releases

There are a few anthologies and box sets releasing this month that feature my stories.

fables and faeThe first is Of Fables and Fae by Pauline Creeden which features STOLEN and is due for release today! (1st July 2020).

From the back of the book: The Fae can be tricky creatures. Some manipulate humans while others avoid them. Will you be fooled by the glamour and magic? With more than 700 pages of captivating fiction, you’ll be enchanted by fairy queens, surrounded by pixies, ride alongside creatures to lands unknown, and fear whether each new Fae you meet is friend or foe.

With stories from:
Bokerah Brumley
Anna Santos
Margo Bond Collins
Anthea Sharp
Samantha Coville
Majanka Verstraete
Kat Parrish
Zoey Xolton
Stacey Jaine McIntosh
Caroline A. Gill
Krystal Pena
And Pauline Creeden

Available here!

The next is Once from Iron Faerie Publishing which features five drabbles and two 250 word flash pieces centering around princesses.

img_3732From the back of the book: This is Once Upon a Time… with a twist!
What happens when you combine fairy tale Princesses and Speculative Fiction?
You get a great many stories of wonder and intrigue with a dash of magic and scifi thrown in for good measure.
Because everything is better with Princesses!

Featuring microfiction by:

Andra Dill
Andrea L. Staum
Beth W. Patterson
Chris Bannor
Cindar Harrell
Georgina Stancer
McKenzie Richardson
Rowanne S. Carberry
Stacey Jaine McIntosh
Zoey Xolton

Due for release 15th July 2020! Available for preorder here!

The next is Midsummer Night Shifts which features my story IN MY BLOOD.

midsummer night shiftsFrom the back of the book: Fall in love with shifters stalking through the moonlit heat of a summer night.

Join the hunt as these shifters slide through the shadows unseen, stalk their enemies, pursue their loves, and take down their prey.

Sink your teeth into 20+ stories of hot city streets, steamy tropical jungles, pack politics, and fated mates as the heroines and heroines embrace their inner animals.

Fans of Dannika Dark, Terry Bolryder, Celia Kyle, Eva Chase, and T.S. Joyce will love this sizzling collection of shifter tales!

Midsummer Night Shifts features the following authors:
May Dawson
Lacey Carter Andersen
Joanna Mazurkiewicz
Margo Bond Collins
Elvira Bathory
Jen Ponce
Lexi Ostrow
Krista Ames
Ashley Amy
Jasmine Cross
J. A. Cummings
Jocelyn Dex
Trinity Hanrahan
Imani L. Hawkins
Ivy Hearne
Meghyn King
Justine Kitay
Tracey H. Kitts
Cassie Leigh
Stacey Jaine McIntosh
Mandy Melanson
Niobe Marsh
Sharon Rose Mayes
Eve L. Mitchell
Kat Parrish
Krystal Pena
Eden Rose
Tricia Schneider
Salem Storm
KT Strange
R.L. Wilson
Zoey Xolton

Due for release 16th July 2020! Available for preorder here!

Prologue

 

In My Blood

Prologue

img_2022

Evie sat in the corner booth waiting, idly playing with the straw in her drink. She was bored and she’d only been here ten minutes. But that was the problem with small towns. Nothing ever happened and on the odd chance that something exciting did happen, it was almost always short lived.

So, she either had to find an excuse to get out of town and head to the city, or find someone who would be willing to entertain her for a few hours.

And that was the other thing about small towns. It was impossible to date. Everyone available was either one of three things… too old, family or someone her parents didn’t approve of.

It was the third reason that bugged Evie most of all and gave her the most incentive to want to get out. It wasn’t as if she needed her parent’s approval in regards to who she dated, but the elders of the pack had strict rules as to what the younger generation could and couldn’t do.

All because some alpha over in Belfast got himself got himself into a tangle with the daughter of the faerie queen. Suffice to say it didn’t end well and a lot of people died. Of course, those actions had ripple effects which had trickled down to the American packs.

Rule #36: No werewolf shall at any time enter into a relationship with one of the fair folk.

To do so would mean excommunication. And to be a werewolf without a pack was dicey. Without protection of other pack members anything could happen.

But Evie never was good at playing by the rules.

Rolling her eyes at him as he sat down in the booth opposite her, Fletcher grinned. “Hey Sis, how’s things?”

“Fine,” she muttered. “What brings you to my booth?”

“Oh, nothing. Just thought I’d check in. See how my little sis is doing.”

Evie rolled her eyes once more. “What do you want, Fletcher?”

“Oh, it’s not what I want,” he said. “It’s what they want.”

“They?” Evie asked, confusion marring her face. “But…”

“Apparently,” Fletcher continued, a wry smile tugging at the corners of his mouth. “Our aunt speaks very highly of you.”

“Our aunt?” Evie asked, while across the table, Fletcher nodded.

“And she’d like an audience with you.”

“Me!” Evie squeaked. “Why me?”

Fletcher shrugged. “How should I know? Perhaps she’s got a potential suitor already picked up, ready and waiting for you to walk down the aisle… they do have aisles in Arcadia, don’t they? I mean you could do worse.”

“I could do worse?” Evie’s nostrils flared. “’Course you would think marriage to one of the fair folk was a perfectly acceptable solution given there aren’t enough pack members to go around, wouldn’t you? Why don’t you marry one then?”

“Because Eves,” Fletcher said. “I’m not one of the last surviving Quinn females on the North American coast.”

“What’s blood got to do with any of this?” Evie demanded.

“Everything.”